NYC Midnight

This year I have started entering creative writing competitions. To my utter disbelief, I won the NYC Midnight Short Story Challenge.

It was a wonderful competition, and I’m not just saying that because I won! There are three rounds, and in each round you write a story incorporating a specified genre, character, and subject. In the first round, you have a week; in the second round, three days; and in the final round, twenty-four hours.

The tight deadlines were exactly what I needed. I have always loved writing, but as an adult I have just kept putting it off. This competition made me write regardless of how busy I was. Moreover, it forced me to stretch myself to write in genres I wouldn’t normally touch. These were my assignments:

Round 1

Genre: Political Satire

Subject: Guns

Character: A middleman

 

Round 2

Genre: Thriller

Subject: A water supply

Character: A park ranger

 

Round 3

Genre: Open

Subject: A sunrise

Character: An undertaker

 

During the first round, I became so immersed in my story that I wrote it whenever I had a moment: I remember balancing my laptop on my knees while I was on the train. I was thrilled simply to make it to the second round, let alone to place first overall. I will post a link to my final-round story when it goes up on the website.

About A Book and a Half

I'm a teacher based in Melbourne, Australia. I blog about reading, writing, teaching, learning, and exploring.
This entry was posted in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to NYC Midnight

  1. Vi Waln says:

    Congratulations. I read your winning story. I loved it. It made me cry. Thank you.

  2. madelineshaw says:

    Hi Sarah,
    I’ve just read and loved your winning story! Congratulations. What a gentle, finely crafted piece.

  3. In working my way around the NYC Midnight challenge website, I was delighted to find a fellow Melbournian as the winner! Your winning story was so poignant, full of sensitive detail. Christopher and his sunrises came to life before my eyes and in my heart. Loved it.

Leave a Reply

